15:30 Cup of Tea

Once the lid lifts the emptiness can but escape…

The essence rises disappearing into the senses,

I’m open…

Boiled to perfection by waters that cleanse as a matter of decency,

This particular pot is for contemplation,

Is this me?

Hello…

A cupful for us both then, well met I’d say,

No sugary vagaries we’re natural in this madness,

Been at this tea party before,

Just not so with such company…

And not ever with this wild special blend,

It has me gingerly reaching,

Towards the light…but I am so alive…

Feeling,

The inside of a burnt black pot,

What an odd place to hide?

No more,

You too said so, promised on your lips,

That taste is bewitching, like cinnamon sprinkled childhood,

A whole forest on my tongue, the little leaves rustle…

In that last sip there they are,

Looking like they want to be rescued,

And I would oblige them if I wasn’t in such fine company,

They can wait, I say and I agree too…

My needs are clear…

From now on, you all pay for your own coffee…

3 responses to “15:30 Cup of Tea

Leave a Reply

