The Hands of God

It must be an act of mercy that I cannot see her eyes, wet with grief, like pools of see through blood,

It must be an act of the divine that sometimes there are no lies, just what seems, precariously elusive to the touch,

Her world is in turmoil I can hear the rain drops thud

And if I were a god I would prevent it from such,

But men of my size cannot bend the silver fabric of time

Governed by love I relinquish what’s mine…

There is a way to things that boggles the mind, twisting the soul, emptying the heart and killing fear,

There is a way that brings all of human kind, through hurt and pain, together on a line that isn’t always clear,

Each one alone like a single hope in a sphere

Exposed to the unknown like a lighthouse on an old pier,

They swim in gloomy seas with brave faces and no smiles

In danger of becoming heroes who may never again see the sun shine…

Some choose their fate with mustard seed faith, plunging blindly beyond the rims of reality,

Some choose too late in an attempt to make haste, falling into the trappings of a self-defeating mentality,

Either way we are all in this together

 Like one big family

Watching the reels of life fading away

 Fantastically,

If it wasn’t for her, so enthusiastic and mature, the world would be plain, meaningless, devoid of substance,

If it wasn’t for her, so meticulous and sure, I would be in pain, ridiculous, spoilt by abundance,

For she compels me to share out of fear of the repercussions

Whether I’m good or bad she makes no assumptions…

Let me bear her agony for I have endured the pits

At the very worst of times,

Let me bear her agony for I am a vagabond

Who is full of many lines

I could talk the angels out of the skies

If only they would just let her smile,

 And once in a while,

Let her know it is okay to cry…

6 responses to “The Hands of God

  1. what a beautiful remarkable piece. a true definition of time, love and pain. Is it a friend that has these tears or an old lover?

    “If it wasn’t for her, so enthusiastic and mature, the world would be plain, meaningless, devoid of substance,
    If it wasn’t for her, so meticulous and sure, I would be in pain, ridiculous, spoilt by abundance,
    For she compels me to share out of fear of the repercussions
    Whether I’m good or bad she makes no assumptions…”

    she sounds like someone we should all have by our sides. Never judging but always loving, making life more meaningful and less painful….what a wonderful poem.

Leave a Reply

