A Cold Lonely Place

In a cold lonely place,

High up in the mountains just a few confessions below the heavens,

A forest, populated with the ancient forms of redwoods,

A stillness permeates everything, a stillness so precise,

So vast and so unintentional,

It makes the mind wonder beyond its own mechanism,

There in the nothingness lies a cottage,

Tucked away like an unspoken wish,

Inside,

In a corner between the thatched roof and the stone wall,

A spider web glistens like seasonal adornments,

Betraying its purpose as it looks inviting,

Beautiful, still, undisturbed,

A fire burns intensely in the fire place,

Devouring logs with a sizzling enthusiasm,

The cottage is lit with a golden glow,

Illuminating the most obvious things while hiding others,

Cracks on the wall, dust on the floor, mist on the windows,

Like the whispered secrets of the ghosts of loved ones,

There is an otherness outside but an enchanted presence inside,

The skinned corpse of a rabbit hangs from the beams of the roof,

Still dripping the last scarlet drops of blood, metallic in smell,

Animated shadows dance softly in the gloom,

Making it seem like the rabbit still twitches,

With the last bit of life,

Lifeless it can only sway with the gentle breeze,

In the air another smell, wild herbs picked only that morning,

Baking bread in the oven,

With an all consuming aroma,

Like cherished memories, with the taste of forever,

Outside is another world,

Inside is a bizarrely pleasant peace,

An indescribable feeling, a powerful place…

12 responses to “A Cold Lonely Place

  1. This is was very illustrative. I kept imagining a house all lit up in an organge glow, reaslizing the dust of secrets and skinned rabbbit, the smells of death and warmth.

    Great depictions, this was creatively insightful and resonantes with me on a personal level.

    • Thanks. I’ve been trying to focus less on structure like I tend to do and just allow myself to go with the flow. I find one advantage of that is that I am forced to be more imaginative and actually see what i want to write before i actually write it. I appreciate the kidn words…

      • going with the flow is what I usually try and stay with. It can be hard, but also much easier. It all depends on how much you let it flow from your self. It is hard to let free verse flow, I’m sure, although that is my favorite kind. šŸ™‚

        I’m glad you are trying something new. I loved it. šŸ™‚

  2. I’m sorry but I had to come back to this piece….I could not grasp it all at once when I read it the first couple of times (or perhaps I did, but did not verbalize it)

    “There in the nothingness lies a cottage,
    Tucked away like an unspoken wish,
    Inside,”

    I love this imagry of a cottage (heart) tucked away, not wanting to be found, but secretly wanting/waiting.

    “In a corner between the thatched roof and the stone wall,
    A spider web glistens like seasonal adornments,
    Betraying its purpose as it looks inviting,
    Beautiful, still, undisturbed,”

    I see this corner where the spider web lays as a piece in someone’s heart (the cottage) being hidden away, over time, over years and seasons…..looking “inviting, beautiful, still, undisturbed” as if the web that has been waiting to attach itself to the very thing that lands in its path…..an inviting path to the cottage’s heart….I love the imagery and imagination….Perhaps I am going wild with my own crazy thoughts, but this just sprung out to me as something I should share with you.

    this was beautiful. Again thank you for being so free flowing. šŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much. As always you are on point when it comes to dissecting my words. The last two free flowing poems I have written have been about loneliness the kind experienced when you start questioning your relationship and ultimately yourself and your resolve to get out of a situation of oyur own creation. Towards the end of last week I was feeling like I am living incongruently and it caught up with me over the weekend when I had a blow up at my partner. A lot of issues came out and for now it seems like it was for the good. I can’t tell where I am at the moment since I haven’t written this week. I feel good though, in an odd kind of way…

Leave a Reply

