Aries

When a man without a purpose stops and stares in wonder

It can only be to behold beauty of the enchanting type,

When he feels he has been awakened from a deep slumber

Then be sure his longing has been drawn towards a fiery princess,

Or perhaps she was a queen from a dark underworld

Where passions are enjoyed openly at the envy of the modest,

Her maturity was so apparent, yet her youth shone bold

To this lost man she brought the blinding light of promise,

But was he seeing what he thought he wanted to see

Or was he seeing what’s real outside of a feigned existence?

What difference did it make considering what was being freed?

Something so delightfully lustful it nagged him with throbbing insistence?

What was it about her that could make a vagabond found?

That made such a difference that hearts no longer cried quietly?

Was it her eyes that pierced like crimson rubies every time she smiled?

Unfazed, just still, glaring innocuously back at an envying society?

Or was it the magnificent design of her godly hands

That seemed welcoming to a stranger who didn’t know any better?

Was danger ever so cute that one could risk going mad

Like making love in a burning hell with a backdrop of slick magenta,

Whatever she promised he would swallow with gluttonous fervour

For he couldn’t deny that he was intoxicated beyond reason,

And he hadn’t even heard her speak, nothing, not a murmur

But he knew if he got close enough to hear her heart beating,

There would be something there unseen by all creators

Something so pleasurable that he would always keep it close,

Something that killed the desire to beg life for favours

Something that gave strength and made a man keen to face his foes,

Something so natural, like falling leaves in mid April

A time when unique beings are born upon the planet,

And somehow make the rest of us feel quite able

To embrace our internal flame and make good living a habit…

8 responses to “Aries

  1. This is a gerat piece!

    “Where passions are enjoyed openly at the envy of the modest,
    Her maturity was so apparent, yet her youth shone bold”

    It shows a very lovely side to this princes or queen that wakes the man without a pupose with a bold shake, not physically but with her fire-like eyes and spirit.

    The internal paranoias of your own (the lost man’s) thoughts are so apparent here:

    “To this lost man she brought the blinding light of promise,
    But was he seeing what he thought he wanted to see
    Or was he seeing what’s real outside of a feigned existence?”

    Not knowing if something is real or not, questioning even the best things in life against their own good….very brilliant the way you constructed this.

    I love this:
    “What was it about her that could make a vagabond found?
    That made such a difference that hearts no longer cried quietly?”

    For I feel like a vagabond at times, and for most of my life— I feel this way, except when I am around my love and when I think of a possibly future with him, do I finally see a home, a permanent place inside me that could make life worth living, living a life of adventure, true love and purpose in life.

    This is a great part!:
    “Whatever she promised he would swallow with gluttonous fervour
    For he couldn’t deny that he was intoxicated beyond reason,
    And he hadn’t even heard her speak, nothing, not a murmur
    But he knew if he got close enough to hear her heart beating,
    There would be something there unseen by all creators
    Something so pleasurable that he would always keep it close,
    Something that killed the desire to beg life for favours
    Something that gave strength and made a man keen to face his foes,”

    The words spoken by this being intoxicated this lost vagabond’s heart and spirit– her words were not what he kept dear, but her feelings that awakened him, her spirit that resided in him, her heart beat that he felt beside him. I love the part about a man keep to face his foes….such a beautiful power of this feeling, this aura to transform a man’s weaknesses into strengths, and build on his courage to face the demons that possess his life.

    The last part is probably my most favorite:

    “Something so natural, like falling leaves in mid April
    A time when unique beings are born upon the planet,
    And somehow make the rest of us feel quite able
    To embrace our internal flame and make good living a habit…”

    It’s almost like a promise that in the spring a new life will emerge, new hope will be present, change will take force — and make life and possibilities come alive with the internal flame and “make good living a habit”…this is by far my fav part…that last line just grabs my soul….give me hope for my future….

    thank you very much. I always look forward to reading your work….it speaks to me on many levels, especially what I am going through on a personal level with someone dear to me.

    • I am so glad that the things I write can touch you on a level that allows you to relate to what I was experienceing when I wrote them. i am also truly sorry that your weekend caused emotional pain on a level you don’t deserve – that nobody deserves – and I was left feeling disappointed for you when I read your blog. Anyways, your light shines bright and don’t let anybody get you down. This poem is one I wrote for a woman that I consider my best friend. I wrote it a few years agos when we first realised how intense our friendship was. I have many women friends and when I was younger I used to confuse the line between friend and lover and often my friendships were ruined after falling in love with my friend or sleeping with them. At one stage I started believing that a man and a woman can only be friends if they have already slept with each other or if one of them is planning for it to happen. These days I’m not so sure what I believe but I do know that a man and a woman can be friends and love each other without too many complications. Their respective partners may not understand it but a bit of effort and understanding never hurt anybody. Thanks for reading the poem, as always I value your input and insight…

  2. I hear that, about men and women being friends….I have always stuck to my line between lovers and friends, but most of my lovers have then become my friends after the relationship has ended, unless circumstances have made it difficult to continue a friendship with that person. So yes, I guess the lines are blurred in that sense.

    Thank you for you kind words about my weekend, although it was not all filled with disapointment — it left me feeling very — well mad. I think I’m begining to draw the line between our visits…it’s just too devastating for me to continue on this path, unless something changes, which in reality — I’m not sure about anymore.

  3. Every time I read this poem it seems to touch a different part of my soul and a different line always seems to tug at my heart. Thank you for posting it.

    This time these lines seemed particularly powerful:

    ”And somehow make the rest of us feel quite able
    To embrace our internal flame and make good living a habit…”

    I think that this is so potent because we all have or should have that person in our lives who just makes us want to reach beyond the starsand sometimes it is just good to allow yourself to indulge in the finer things of life.

    I feel like every women on earth needs a poem like this to be written for them, because it isnt so much about describing who she is but more about how she affects the people around her and we often forget that we are shaped by and in turn shape others…

Leave a Reply

