Butterfly

If a dream were the world, the pearl to my wisdom, I would smile impossibly.

If it seemed what I have learned, in a world so crimson, was only about hopes blossoming.

Then waking reality would be but a backdrop to my heart singing softly,

Breaking, Awaking

Tasting life and at once gushing with verbosity.

For every breathless day since, that very first unearthing, I have been wondering.

Could she really exist, a beauty so disturbing, so unintentionally encumbering?

She so free and unafraid to follow the winds southerly,

 Weaving, Teasing

Simply and inexplicably being herself so magically powerful.

A soul of many colours, a Butterfly by any other name, she is a galaxy.

The promise of many summers, none of which are the same, she is my fantasy.

A thing of dark passion ferocious love she touches me savagely,

Biting, Lightly

From inside me she manifests giving me purpose gallantly.

A young virtuoso with a steely eye, roving the hills, I capture the future.

Unburdened by fears of dying, time kills, but not even that can dispute her.

From the past till now I am her from a distance but somehow sooner,

Together, Forever

Us two creatures creating an existence that’s sometimes smoother.

3 responses to “Butterfly

  1. “Simply and inexplicably being herself so magically powerful.
    A soul of many colours, a Butterfly by any other name, she is a galaxy.
    The promise of many summers, none of which are the same, she is my fantasy.
    A thing of dark passion ferocious love she touches me savagely,
    Biting, Lightly”

    I love the attention you gave to the power of self, the self of this butterfly — unique, adaptable to many seasons of change and encompassing a vast world – a galaxy to be traveled upon.

    The “many summers” I have such great memories of summer time fun, always new and different — your desire of growth and intrigue impress me with these words. The fantasy seems so real, but yet you call it a fantasy like you cannot obtain it for yourself, b/c fantasy is just an illusion of your desires from within- or you use the word as in to say perfect, in all essence of this beauty your “dream woman” so to say. Can dreams come to fruition, lets hope so, eh?

    I love the ferocious love, so aggressive in her passion, yet tender in her approach to seduce.

    “Unburdened by fears of dying, time kills, but not even that can dispute her.”

    I love this as well. The fear of death does not scare her away, but in fact she runs towards it, like she has no fear of dying or of death.

    this is a beautiful poem of blossoming dreams, fantasies and most importantly growth and awakenings.

    Great work, bravo!

    • Thank you. I actually wrote this last year just a few months before my seven year relationship with this woman ended. Up until then she had been the perfect love, blending fantasy with reality. I always felt she was the perfect fantasy and yet she taught me so much about being practical about love. I actually was in awe of her and looked up to her bravery and care free spirit. It was a great pity that she never appreciated poetry however, and whenever I gave her poems such as this one she would just shrug and smile and yet tell me what she thought. Anyways, that doesn’t really matter now, all that matters is I love playing with words, expressing myself and watching meaning take on a meaning of its own that was often unintended…

      • hmm, sad she didn’t appreciate poetry, it’s enduring and from the heart…you have a great use of words and very creative in your approach, hopefully your next love will appreciate the words more and have some wonderful comments to share.

Leave a Reply

